"No less a critic than C. S. Lewis has described the ravenous addiction that these magazines inspired; the same phenomenon has led me to call science fiction the only genuine consciousness-expanding drug." Arthur C. Clarke

The Nebula Award

The Nebula Award is one of the most prestigious awards in science fiction and fantasy, and has been giving awards since 1965, with Frank Herbert‘s Dune winning the first Nebula for Best Novel.  Other categories include Best Novella, Best Novelette, Best Short Story, and Best Script.

Of my favorite authors, Isaac Asimov and Arthur C. Clarke have won three each, and Orson Scott Card has won twice.

The other major award presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America at the Nebula ceremony is the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award, a lifetime achievement award presented to an author who has made major lifetime contributions to the science fiction and/or fantasy genres.

The Nebula Award

Robert A. Heinlein was the first recipient of the award in 1975, possibly compensating for the fact that Heinlein never won a Nebula Award for any specific novel.  L. Sprague de Camp received it in 1979, Clarke in 1986, Asimov in 1987, Ray Bradbury in 1989, Lester del Rey in 1991, Hal Clement in 1999, and Harlan Ellison in 2006.  The SWFA has done a pretty good job of awarding these to older contributors before they die, getting to many of it’s recipients often only a few years before their deaths.  This lifetime achievement award is one of the highest honors a science fiction or fantasy author can receive, and I can only dream about receiving this award at the end of my career.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s