"No less a critic than C. S. Lewis has described the ravenous addiction that these magazines inspired; the same phenomenon has led me to call science fiction the only genuine consciousness-expanding drug." Arthur C. Clarke

More Tornadoes

It’s been a couple weeks since my last post, between finals week and a bit of a vacation.

However, it’s been interesting because tornadoes seem to be following me around.  Obviously living in Oklahoma is just asking to be around plenty of tornadoes, but this week has been even worse than usual.

I was at my cousin’s wedding in St. Louis over last weekend and drove back with my family on Sunday, driving through Joplin, Missouri mere hours before the largest of these recent tornadoes hit there, killing (at most recent count) 122.  Then, on Monday, as I prepared to drive from Enid to Norman, I looked at the weather on T.V. and the vertical dry line was firing violent cells across the I-35 corridor.  Needless to say I waited to start driving until much of it had passed, though I still drove under a couple impressive wall clouds near Kingfisher and Hennessey.  Then on Tuesday, in Norman, the dry line fired again and I ended up in the basement of the Oklahoma Memorial Union on campus with about a hundred too many other people (it was crowded, in other words).

Tornado in Chickasha, Oklahoma, on Tuesday

The tornadoes here in Oklahoma on Tuesday killed nine, and reports say that at least four will be rated EF-3’s.  Towns hit include Chickasha, Piedmont, Cashion, Moore, and Goldsby, towns that I personally drive through on a regular basis.  It’s weird.

As far as the Joplin tornado goes, it was the eighth-deadliest tornado in U.S. history, despite doubts that it was even an EF-5.  This just goes to show that in the right situation it doesn’t take a huge tornado to cause plenty of damage and take lives.

Leave a Reply

