"No less a critic than C. S. Lewis has described the ravenous addiction that these magazines inspired; the same phenomenon has led me to call science fiction the only genuine consciousness-expanding drug." Arthur C. Clarke

Writing Science Fiction

For my first post, I suppose I will introduce myself.  I am Kayle Hodges, a professional writing student at a particular football school in the Southwest (#1 Program of the Modern Era) and I want to write and write about science fiction.  I don’t think I am as much of a nerd as it may seem from that simple statement, but I may be wrong.

My favorite writers are Isaac Asimov, Robert Heinlein, Orson Scott Card, Arthur C. Clarke, and Douglas Adams.  Yes, I said Douglas Adams, the writer of The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (among other things).

Arthur C. Clarke said, “No less a critic than C. S. Lewis has described the ravenous addiction that these magazines inspired; the same phenomenon has led me to call science fiction the only genuine consciousness-expanding drug.”

Other types of writing simply entertain (if they are good), but they don’t often make the reader think.  Science Fiction consistently has the quality that makes one think about the world, the future, and the vastness of life itself, while also making him feel minuscule under the scope of the Galaxy.  That quality I most enjoy of Asimov’s, in particular, is the scale to which he writes; the primary universe he writes in starts merely years ahead of us to millennia into the future, to when we had colonized the stars and no longer even knew what planet we originated from.

For this blog I will be writing about science fiction in general, especially Hard Science Fiction.  Is that too broad a subject?  No, because I believe Hard Science Fiction itself is too small a subject to be divided further, especially since fewer and fewer authors are writing it today.  Is typing and then answering my own questions too cliched? Yeah, probably.

Leave a Reply

